Arcade Fire plays new songs, screams Pearl Jam and Black Flag

On Thursday, Arcade Fire was announced as a surprise addition to the Coachella 2022 Friday night lineup. Playing at the Mojave tent, Arcade Fire performed tracks from their upcoming album WE, including the new song “Unconditional I (Lookout Kid)”. Technically, this isn’t the band’s first time playing this gig — they performed “Lookout Kid” last month at the Bowery Ballroom. They also had to restart “Unconditional I (Lookout Kid)” because Win Butler got emotional onstage, telling the audience, “It’s been a rough few fucking years, I don’t know about you… We say so much poison to each other .”

Near the start of the set, Arcade Fire also ended up restarting “The Lightning” after pointing out that an audience member needed medical attention. They then performed a series of songs spanning their entire career, including “Neighborhood #3 (Power Out)”, “Ready To Start”, “The Suburbs”, and “Wake Up”.

Butler also dedicated the band’s performance of “The Suburbs” to the people of Ukraine, saying, “Everyone in a punk rock band in Ukraine right now,” he added. “I am thinking of everyone who is facing war right now.”

Leading up to “Everything Now,” Butler shouted out Coachella co-founder Paul Tollett, Black Flag and Pearl Jam: “This motherfucker [Tollett] used to book Black Flag… There’s a band called Pearl Jam, and they say, “Black Flag is the greatest fucking band ever, so this guy can book our shows. At one point they were like, ‘Fuck Ticketmaster. We do not play in any room with Ticketmaster. The only place they could play in Los Angeles in this shit… So that’s where the fucking Coachella came from. So thanks to Pearl Jam and thanks to Paul Tollett.

Watch Arcade Fire perform “Unconditional I (Lookout Kid)” below.

01 “The Lightning I” (False start; Butler stops song to check if a fan is in the crowd/call a doctor)
02 “Lightning II”
03 “Neighborhood #3 (Power Out)”
04 “Rebellion (Lies)”
05 “Ready to start”
06 “The suburbs”
07 “My Body Is A Cage”
08 “The Beyond”
09 “Age of Anxiety II (Rabbit Hole)”
10 “Spread II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)”
11 “Everything Now” (Butler Hails Coachella Founders and His Son)
12 “Unconditional I (Lookout Kid)” (False Start; Win Got Emotional)
13 “Wake Up”

WE was released on 5/6 via Columbia.

Leave a Comment